Flour Girls Gone Wild…CUPCAKE Wild!

I decided to pair this week’s bakery stop with a visit to my sister in Milton.  I hadn’t been to a bakery in Milton before, and so resorted to a Google search to get me started. Turns out there are several bakeries in Milton, so it came down to a highly scientific decision-making method: Whichever website I liked best. Flourgirls looked pretty good, so Flourgirls it was!  And their specialty?  Cupcakes!!

The benefit of testing a bakery in Milton is that I have very eager tasters to help me out in the form of my sister’s nearly-three-year-old twin boys, whom we’ll call Willy and Wonka. When Willy and Wonka heard they were going “downtown” to have some sugar for lunch, they couldn’t get their little hats and mitts on fast enough!  (My sister didn’t need much convincing either;)

To find Flourgirls, you have to find downtown Milton. Oddly enough, downtown feels more like the west edge of town, but just keep driving past the big box acreage, and you will find it, I promise! Flourgirls is right on the main street, and FREE municipal parking is a mere block away – I just have to underline the FREE parking, as it’s such a novelty to TO suckers like me.  FREE. PARKING.

The shop wasn’t busy when we arrived, which was great – it gave Willy and Wonka plenty of time to ogle every last cupcake in the case without interruption:

It also gave owner Susy the chance to explain the different flavours and icing options. Some cupcakes have a thick buttercream icing (For the Love of Chocolate cupcake). Some have a buttercream that’s made with egg whites and sugar – this is more the consistency of whipped cream (Lemon Zinger cupcake). Their signature cupcake is the Red Devil (red velvet) which has a cream cheese buttercream frosting.

If you’re like me and have a preference for one type of buttercream frosting (I like the thicker, buttery frosting) make sure you ask which cupcake has which frosting before you order.

Here’s what we tried:

Red Devil

Ms Plain Jane (Vanilla)

Chocoholic

For the Love of Chocolate

Chocolate Cake Pop (at the very excited request of Willy & Wonka)

I can see why the Red Devil is their signature flavour – it was a clear winner in my books, and my sister loved it as well.  The cake was moist, the frosting thick and rich but not too sweet.  In second place was For the Love of Chocolate because it was just SOOOOO richly chocolate, I didn’t know what to do with myself.  The buttercream was the real deal – thick, buttery, but again, not too sweet.  Chocoholic wasn’t so decadent – a lighter chocolate version (think dark choc vs. milk choc).  I wasn’t too crazy about the lighter frosting, but my sister really enjoyed it, and so did Willy and Wonka, so there you go – sometimes it just comes down to preference.

The vanilla was a big hit with the boys, but the real winner for them was the cake pop.  They LOVED it.

Susy explained to us that she mixes the cake with a little bit of icing, so it’s a thicker, stickier consistency and therefore won’t fall off the stick easily, which is great for little ones. I’m pretty sure Willy & Wonka are now true believers in the Flourgirls motto (sorry sister!):

So there you have it!  If you’re in the mood for a cupcake and you happen to be in the neighborhood of Milton, I’d suggest you take a peek in Flourgirls.  All goodies are nut-free, the shop is wheel-friendly and has a small eat-in area. Drip coffee and espresso are available as well – thank you Susy for putting on a fresh pot for us so we could keep up with the sugar-infused Willy and Wonka after the fact;)

Flourgirls
220 Main Street East
Milton, ON, L9T 1N8

Tel. 905-693-0271

http://www.flourgirls.com/default.aspx

5 thoughts on “Flour Girls Gone Wild…CUPCAKE Wild!

    • Please note: Auntie Freya chose the most unflattering photos of Willy (or Wonka). In one picture he looks like he is in sugar shock, stretched out on the couch. The other photo he still looks like he is in sugar shock and gonna pass out!

      Thanks for feeding my kids sugar for lunch (and mostly dinner since they wanted cupcakes for dinner as well)! They wanted cupcakes for breakfast as well.

      By the time I got home, there was only one red velvet left. Icing was awesome. Definitely recommend the red velvet!

Leave a Reply

